These Bruins Are No Longer In Ruins

My AOL IM screen name – Bruinsinruins – has nothing to do with Jeremy Jacobs or “Too Many Men on the Ice” or Cam Neely’s busted knee. Nor is its genesis linked to the 2009 Carolina Crapshow or the 0-3 debacle from last year. Really, it has nothing to do with the Boston Bruins. And that is a good thing because if that weren’t the case and my AOL identity was linked to Boston Bruin futility, I would be searching for a new handle this morning because those Bruins are in ruins no more.

Before I go too far, I have to admit that I am not fully invested in the Bruins. Truthfully, they are located on the third tier of my rooting interests, right alongside FC Barcalona and the U.S. Women’s skiing team (No joke, I actually follow that stuff pretty closely). As such, I have about three percent of my portfolio invested in the Bruins while more than thirty percent goes to the Sox.

But that doesn’t mean I wasn’t’ jacked for last night’s game. A game which lived up to all its hype.

And it doesn’t mean that I wasn’t pretty damn excited to see David Krejci feed Nathan Horton for that game winner. A play that I’m sure will be talked about in New England for years if not decades.

Sure, it would have tasted sweeter if I had owned 30,000 shares of Bruins stock but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t feel good when you own 3,000 shares and those shares double.

But while my gains were rather tame, I am heartened to see that some of my New England guys made a killing last night. Double D and Monkey Boy down in Washington. Mike up in Connecticut.  All big Bruins fans. John from Blondies, who may have sold all his stock if the Lighning had snuck out of there last night with a 1-0 win. And others who I have watched Pats and Celts games with over the years. To those people, I say congratulations. There is more work to be done but guys, today I am happy that you finally collected some dividends.

And that goes as well for the entire Boston sports community which truth be told, I have always thought of as more a hockey town than hoops mecca. Having Russell, Bird and Garnett fall into one’s lap has helped masked that but at the core, Boston has always struck me as a city that rented basketball but owned hockey. So kudos to those who were waiting an awful long time to see the Bruins on top as the clock expired in an Eastern Conference Final.

Obviously, more work needs to be done. And truthfully, I have no idea what lies in store out in Vancouver. I mean I know about the Sendins and Ryan Kessler. And then there is Roberto Luongo. That said, I can’t speak intelligently to the notion of how these teams stack up.

But this is what I do know.  I know my Spring two-sport playoff beard was given an extension on life last night and it will now be a pain in my ass for at least another ten days. And I do know that most likely, I will be a half hour late to my Dad’s 80th birthday party next Saturday. And finally, I know this to be true … on this morning … the Boston Bruins are no longer in Ruins.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “These Bruins Are No Longer In Ruins

  1. Congrats on a great win! Thomas played his ass off, as did the defense. Good luck in the Cup finals.

Leave a Reply

